Barking Back

Lu has a memory like an elephant. If a dog barked at her behind a certain fence she will remember that and act inappropriate when going by this place even if the dog is not in the yard. This is only one example….there are a few. Eventually she will let it go. But it takes a while. If she saw a deer on our walk…well she expects it will be there two weeks later even after walking there everyday.
Which leads me to this weekends obsession and eventual talking barking back at me.

There just so happened to be a squirrel in a tree in my daughters back yard… Ok so I expect Lu to bark, run, and try to climb the tree…the first time….but after many hours and then a day passes without hearing or seeing the squirrel…. The craziness must stop!

I start to block her from the tree. Which is me just standing there staring at her while she dodges back and forth in front of me barking non stop. Slowly I continue to walk towards her till finally she sits and stops barking. After this if she goes to the tree … I say leave it and she does. While I am standing there I often think about what she would be saying to me if she could talk…

Me: “Leave it”. (calmly standing in front of her staring at her).
Lu: “IT’S A SQUIRREL! DID YOU SEE IT! GET OUT OF MY WAY!! WHY ARE YOU STARING AT ME!! STOP LOOKING AT ME! MOVE! MOVE! MOVE! MOVE!” *this goes on for 1-2 minutes.
Me: (takes a few steps towards her till she finally sits)
Lu: “K! I’M SITTING! NOW MOVE! (looks at me) MO— …..Fine.”
Me:” Good girl.” ( walks away)

I have had a few instances of Lu barking back when I have told her to do something. It is actually one of the things I like about her personality. It doesn’t make her a bad dog. Just a dog that has an opinion. She will still do what you want but she will let you know (even while she’s doing what you ask) that she doesn’t really want to do it. If you are willing to follow through she will then comply the next time when asked with no barking back. I just think of her ,during these moments,like a little kid always asking why? And my answer to her is “because I said so”.

20130916-182415.jpg

2 thoughts on “Barking Back

  1. Ha! Funny, Lu!
    Pierre always “stares back.” Sometimes I wish he would bark. Either way, I smell dominance! 😀

  2. OhMelvin says:

    hahahaha! Jake just tries to tackle me to get to the squirrel!

Leave a Reply

